Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some young adolescents spend countless hours every day on their gadgets. This is a problem in many developed countries, and I think that it has a positive effect on development. In many underdeveloped nations, the main problem for children is surviving the cold nights in Africa and Kenya. However, in developed or developing nations, the main cause of stress would be the fact that the internet isn’t working well or the phone isn’t the latest one. That’s just the unfairness of the world nowadays. For example, if a child has malaria or Ebola, their first task in life would be surviving and living to see another day. Nonetheless, if a kid was born into a wealthy family, their task in life would be to study at school or get a well-paid job. Why should one child be sitting all day in an AC-filled room, enjoying life with a smartphone at hand, while another should get married at 13 and start a family for the sake of living normally? This is where smartphones are and how they can help these kids in underdeveloped countries. YouTube, TikTok, and Instagram are very well-known social media sites to use among teenagers. Spreading information through social media is like spreading lice through one kid's hair to another. If one teenager in the USA shares another teen mom’s story in Africa, this can help increase the life chances of that teenager. Phones and technology are never a bad thing, as they can change someone’s life drastically. So, if a kid spends hours every day on their smartphones, ridiculing them and being angry at them is not an option. They are probably changing lives out there, and you may not even know about it! In conclusion, it is safe to say that the world is a cruel place where there are many unfairness’s going on; however, the best that we can do is keep our heads high and help the ones in need.