As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued nowadays that the use of the internet to be aware of issues around the world is more popular as opposed to the more traditional methods of news delivery. I strongly agree with this statement due to the reasons outlined below. Firstly, the information can be accessed within a matter of seconds. Technology has greatly advanced doing wonders for the media industry. For instance, a matter of a simple search can provide countless information in comparison to newspapers which only provide very limited details. Additionally, accessing news through the web can be done free of charge whereas daily paper delivery services require a monthly subscription fee to be paid. This is greatly beneficial to the public because nothing should be spent out of their pockets. Although the internet requires a fee as well, this can be easily outweighed by the wide use of it in every household, not only to be informed but also for other activities hence extra money shouldn't be spent. To sum up, the web poses as a less filtered and cheap method of keeping people informed and aware of current issues.