[Переслано от Асадбек] In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In many societies, children are brought up to believe that if they hold a profound work ethic, they can attain whatever they want. The obvious benefits of this are higher self-esteem and the development of determination; however, the major downsides are poor job prospects and delusion. Inculcating the belief that young people can realize their dreams with hard work helps them build confidence in their abilities. Working towards a goal and seeing dedication pay off is extremely rewarding. Each time people reap this reward, they become more confident that they can iterate this success. Moreover, this builds tenacity, resolve and willpower, otherwise known as ‘courage’, which are vital traits for success in life. Once a child realizes that his hard work and effort are what determines success, he never gives up until his goals have been attained. A case in point is Angela Duckworth’s book Grit. In the book, the writer intensively studies accomplishments and concludes that determination is the key factor in achieving success. However, the mindset can confine people to jobs with modest salaries. When their determination and confidence result in them pursuing careers that are not sensible for them, employers do not share the same belief in their potential and they do not achieve the dreams they had cherished for so long. For example, Mumbai is full of failed artists who believe they will be the next Bollywood star but are forced to do odd jobs that require no formal education. Another drawback is that if one blindly chases after their dreams, one can become deluded. The reason is that they can develop absolute confidence in themselves which is not compatible with reality. In conclusion, transmitting the message to the children that they can achieve anything helps them adopt a positive attitude because it helps translate them into competent individuals who equip with the requisite soft skills that are essential for success in life. However, it should be pragmatic to avoid poor career paths and self-delusion.