In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, we do not need to go to the office most often because all of the jobs can be perfectly done remotely. There are some obvious pluses of it such as saving time on commuting and having a chance to spend more time with the families. On the other hand, people sit a lot and gain more weight quickly which and it becomes really hard for them to socialize. As for the benefits of working in a remote mode, the most important is the possibility to spend more quality time with loved ones. Previously, it was a glaring problem that fathers and mothers could not see how their children were growing up. For example, by the time some parents got home, their sons and daughters would already have been sleeping. Also, individuals do not need to waste their time on useless commuting to the office. Instead, they have an option to rest longer, do some hobbies or learn something new. For example, there is some research showing that if an employee prefers to stay home, he or she is able to hone new skills faster. On the flip side, there are some obvious issues with this approach. Firstly, when people sit at home, they do not do their regular amount of steps. It might be the reason for heart problems and other health issues. For example, this issue occurred when people were locked in during the pandemic and, eventually, the hospitals reported a tremendous number of cases related to the heart. Secondly, people do not notice, but they stopped communicating properly with others, which affects mental health. The ground rule is that people have to socialize or the effect will be negative. For instance, kids who visit kindergartens develop faster than the ones growing up on their own. In conclusion, technical progress gave us the possibility to work from home and now we have an opportunity to be with our families more and do interesting things instead of commuting. But we also need to be aware of the fact that we need to leave our homes for socializing and doing some sports to maintain our health.