Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing controversy about the importance of giving homework to schoolchildren. Some believe that it should be discontinued, while others are to the contrary. This essay will discuss the two sides of the coin and will give my logical point of view after careful consideration of both ideas. First of all, there are undeniable advantages to giving children assignments after their class. One of the main benefits is that children can independently apply the learning they acquire from their school without teachers' or classmates' intervention. This is an effective tool in gauging their comprehension. Moreover, another advantage is that giving them tasks to take on in their homes will promote not only independence but also enhance their sense of responsibility. Children develop this key character that will help them in the future as responsible citizens. However, on the contrary, some suggest that giving them homework is unnecessary. The time spent by the children in school should be enough to practice what they have learned. Furthermore, most children become exhausted by the overwhelming academic tasks and are unable to devote time to other activities that aid in their development, such as socializing, playing, spending quality time with family, and household chores. Thus, assignments should be given deliberately by their teachers. In conclusion, there are indisputable gains and drawbacks to assigning students additional tasks outside the class premises, as there are with other issues. However, in my opinion, giving them homework is absolutely beneficial to some extent, as long as they are not overdoing it.