We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Our daily lives are filled with all kinds of advertising, which affects us in many ways. As far as I am concerned, I opine that it has more disadvantages than benefits to our lives. In the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss my viewpoints. First of all, many companies try to promote their products by making phone calls, giving out pamphlets, making gimmicks with a big logo or having commercials on TV. The approaches just deliver information randomly which not only could waste resources, but also be inefficient. Take gimmicks for example, most of them are cheap and of low quality. Consequently, the majority of people throw them away after receiving them. For instance, on exhibitions, the commercial organizations tend to make effort on some small things to attract attendees. However, based on my experience, these gimmicks will be considered to be trash or useless. These traditional advertising methods should be reconsidered or transformed to prevent leading to environmental issues. With the development of new technology, there are some advanced ways to encourage people to buy products, like Internet marketing. These new strategies can target the audience with accuracy and convey information which interests customers. However, the privacy and personal information would be sacrificed because it needs to supervise consumers’ smartphones and the footprints on social media and the Internet. In conclusion, conventional promoting methods lack efficiency and pollute the environment, and digital marketing is considered to be unethical and leads to privacy violation. As a result, being surrounded by these types of advertising could affect our lives negatively.