Today more a more tourists are visiting place where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of going to far-flung remote places of the world, which have harsh living conditions, is becoming more and more popular among people looking for exotic vacation spots. Folks are in its favour due to its number of merits. However, many people highlight its demerits first. In my essay, the advantages and disadvantages of the same will be discussed along with a sensible conclusion. Initiating with the benefits, the first and foremost key benefit is that visiting such places could offer a richer experience. To cite an example, the Antarctic or the Sahara desert offers more possibilities for the thrill of discovery than a city like London or Mumbai. There is a chance of seeing things in such locations that have never been seen before. Another benefit is that it could be easy on the pocket. For instance, due to low demand, accommodation and food can be very cheap in such places. As a consequence, it can be more satisfying considering the amount spent. On its darker side, there are some factors that make it problematic. Firstly, medical aid and care, in case of injury or illness, will not be readily available, because they might be far away. Secondly, there is limited availability of food options, for example, for vegans and vegetarians will be irksome for such kinds of travellers. Last but not least, communication can be a problem because there is no guarantee that the locals can communicate in English. In conclusion, neither its pros can be neglected nor its cons. It is a mixed bag of positives and negatives. In my opinion, travelling to such areas should not be underestimated and should be undertaken with a pinch of salt by travellers.