It has been said, Not everything that is learned is contained in books, compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why.

People hold different views on the sources for learning. While some claim that one can learn better from printed resources, others believe that experience is the best teacher. In my opinion, I assume that knowledge can be obtained from experience. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. To start with, perhaps the most significant reason experience is the best way to be knowledgeable is that it make individual perfect in their field. Evidently, one is better when practising what they have been taught than just reading. This makes the student active and the wisdom acquired will be retained. However, reading books for learning is only passive, and students might not learn through it. For example, I remember when my agricultural science tutor taught us about different methods of cropping in high school. After the lecture, he encouraged us to practice the technique he taught us on the land given to our class by the school authority. As a result of the practice, we learned better. If we had depended only on reading, we could not have had more education about the subject. Therefore, it reveals that the skills from participation are more crucial. Furthermore, understanding from practice is indispensable because the values gained stay with us longer. On the contrary, we forget some of the tactics we gained from reading books and can only practise if we go back to reading them. Some argue that without these printed sources for learning, one cannot be skilful. Nevertheless, some companies only request employees with maturity in their area of concentration. For instance, when I was applying for a job, almost ten candidates applied for the same position, but I was employed because of my background in my field. Thus, this demonstrates that proficiency from experience is more essential than the insight achieved by reading textbooks. In conclusion, I opined that the best source to acquire skills is an experience rather than reading. This is because it will enhance perfection and value what one has learned.