In some countries , the government promote public transportation and discourage the private vehicles what are the advantage and disadvantages?

Authorities advocate the usage of public transportation while encouraging not to utilize personal vehicle's in some countries. Having an effective public commuting system will definitely help the city's ecosystem but also can have negative effects as well. Utilization of public transport will reduce the influx of vehicles to the city. First of all, this will result in less traffic in both rush and normal hours helping people to save time. Secondly, this will also help to decrease sound and, air pollution which has become a dilemma in most the Asian countries. For instance, Mumbai is considered to be the worst polluted cities in the world where the breathable air is less than 20 per cent because of higher usage of individual vehicles. Hence the concept will help the environment positively by reducing extra costs to governments. On the contrary, this could impact the automobile industry drastically. To begin with, companies will lose sales over a period of time resulting in the loss of many jobs. Furthermore, governments' tax revenues will deplete gradually impacting the economy. In addition to this, these companies will stop investing in research and development which ultimately help to bring the latest technological advancements to the market. For example, Tesla one of the green energy companies invests half of its revenue for research which is considered to be the largest by any company in the world. In conclusion, while there can be negative impacts on the automobile industry and revenue streams promoting public transport is the most effective solution to many problems faced by commuters in saving time and cost.