Some people think that the main influence on young people's diet is advertising rather than family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the emerging impact of advertisements, young people's diet habit is a concerning issue as the number of overweight children is on the rise. Some people are convinced that adverts targeting young residents to shape their preferences for food have a higher influence than family and friends. However, I disagree with this notion. To begin with, we are living in a world where adverts are all around us and their influence on the young generation is more severe than adults. Advertisements, especially those targeting teenagers who are related to food and beverage, spend a huge amount of money to allure them to a better living standard which are, in most cases, lies. Consequently, young people are trapped and prefer fast food to homemade menus. For instance, a recent survey conducted on college students in my city revealed that they prefer pizza, subway sandwiches and burgers to the foods their mums prepare at home. Further studies explained that those students have little consciousness of a balanced diet and are exposed to TV and online advertisements. Having said that, family and friends have a greater influence on a teenager's eating habits. A family has a greater role in shaping a child's food intake habit and scientific studies prove that our diet habit is deeply rooted in the type of food we eat in our childhood. Thus, if a teenager has a bad eating habit, the family is to blame for that. On top of that, when a child starts making friends, he is significantly influenced by his friends ' eating and drinking habits. To illustrate, based on recent research published in the magazine 'Healthy Living', more than 70% school school-going teenagers try to mimic the diet habits of their friends whom they spend time with. These statistics clearly reveal that our family members and friends have more influence on our choices of foods and drinks than the advertisements we are exposed to. To conclude, the foodstuff routine is a significant part of our life as it defines who we become and how healthy, both physically and psychologically, we will be in the future. Commercials, to a certain extent, have an impact on young people's diet, but family and friends have an even greater role.