Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often debated whether a country's government is responsible for the rise in obesity rates among youngsters. I believe that this statement is very true due to the various reasons outlined below. Firstly, adverts for fast food are on the rise nowadays. In return, this leads to children unnecessarily begging their parents to buy them junk food. For example, a study has proven that 89 per cent of children opt to go for eatables that pose health hazards to the body just because they've been shown an attractive advertisement about oily meals. Hence, governments should actively take part in reducing the promotion of an unhealthy diet through the media or even publically by any means necessary. It is also a widely known fact that unhealthy eatables are relatively cheaper in comparison to healthy and organic diets that are good for the body. Producers purposely do this so that individuals have no option but to go for meals that aren't rich in vitamins. For instance, it is proven that the prices of units sold at widely known franchises have dropped up to more than 40 per cent over the past decade. Therefore, it is the country's duty to impose strict restrictions on businesses so that they can't continue to practice such methods. In conclusion, it is important that governments set up certain rules about advertising and the pricing range of unhealthy diets. Due to this, it is solely the government's fault that children of the younger generations have higher obesity rates compared to the younger generations of the past.