According to most projections, the world’s population will continue to rise, until it plateaus at 9 to 11 billion in the latter part of the 21st century. Without a doubt, population growth represents the largest problem facing humanity at present. Do you agree that this is the greatest issue faced by us today?

Due to the advancements in health sciences, motility rates have greatly decreased and natality rates have increased in the past few years which lead to an overflow of the human population. I believe that this spike in the count is indeed the greatest issue faced by us today because of the reasons listed ahead. Overpopulation of mankind is the root cause of many other serious problems encountered by us such as it gives rise to overconsumption of food which further leads to deforestation to make more land to meet the higher food demands. For instance, the Amazon forest which provides us with a large amount of oxygen is being cut down to turn it into farmland without considering its consequences for the future. Many lakes and rivers are also drying as a result of dam construction on them to make electricity for various human uses. Another reason why it is a major concern is that many human activities are contributing to global warming that is, the heating of the Earth due to greenhouse gases which has a negative impact on other forms of life that inhabit this planet, an example, because of the increased temperature ice caps and glaciers are melting and animals like penguins and polar bears have become concerningly less in number and birds like dodo are now extinct. Hence, the increased number of humans not only put the planet in danger but also other residents living on it. To Summarize, I strongly agree with the statement that this is a serious issue and should be dealt with as soon as possible or else it may cause irreversible damage to mother nature.