In some societies, obesity is regarded as a major problem. Some people believe that junk food advertising is largely to blame for this problem and should be banned. However, others feel that junk food advertising does not contribute to the problem of obesity and should not be banned. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Obesity is a very common problem nowadays, especially for the young generation. Due to lack of time people prefer not to cook food at home and get their meals from restaurants and this ultimately leads to obesity and serious health issues. But I do not think advertisements are the main factor for this. To begin with, junk food is largely popular because of the hugely available hotels in multiple cuisines. These restaurants not only serve dine-in but also provide home delivery. As a result, even if the young generation does not have time to go out for a meal they can easily order online and get their food in an hour. So, it represents that they do not even need to move from their place to get their meal. Ultimately this is leading to bad practice. At the same time, our community is not that much concerned about their health due to a lack of awareness. They do not exercise at all. I believe this issue has nothing to do with advertisements since there are tons of other factors that are promoting junk food. For instance, I have a cousin who is only 12 years old and he does not eat homemade food because both of his parents are working full time so they do not have any time to cook for him. Because of eating heavy oily food,regularly he has become around 60kg weight which is way too much for a child. Even though we see fancy meal content on television but is it really going to help just to ban food promotions? On the other hand, our media can focus more on promoting healthy lifestyle content such as doing exercise regularly at home can be highly beneficial for their physical fitness. Even though it is not quite possible to quit eating fast food but doing regular exercise can help to reduce the fat that was gained from eating that health-hazardous meal. For example, recently in the Covid-19 lockdown, my parents monitored that they gained a lot of weight due to staying at home and eating rich cuisine. So, one day they saw an advertisement for doing at- home exercises by watching YouTube. Soon they started doing those regularly and after 3 months of regular effort they lost about 10 kg weight and it improved their fitness a lot. To conclude, it can be said that advertising is a very useful medium to influence our community. That is why content creators should be more careful so that they can spread awareness among the audience.