Consumers are faced with increasing number pf advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Nowadays individuals are being exposed to the growing advertisement from popular and profitable businesses. I absolutely agree with the notion that customers are negatively affected by ads. Besides, some protective steps might be done in order to defend consumers. So, the ideas will be examined in the essay. To begin with, advertisements have become a powerful tool in marketing. Ads often impact consumers ’ decisions in terms of purchases. Predictably, consumers ' choices are not always healthy which is detrimental to their health in the long term. For example, a study has shown that fast food sales and consumption of that kind of product in big cities have been increasing since 2010 thanks to billboards ads that correlates with soaring obesity in these megapolises. Therefore, people influenced by advertisements tend to make harmful choices. However, certain solutions might be implemented that could help consumers to avoid ads. For instance, consumers could stop sharing their data with tech giants such as Google and Yandex turning off geolocations and turning on an incognito mode on their devices. Therefore, well-known companies would have lesser information about users and hence generate fewer advertisements as the result. Thus, such simple measures might help to protect customers from excessive ads related to restaurants and shops. In conclusion, even though modern advertisements may be beneficial for several people they can cause a damaging effect on a consumer’s health condition in long run. Probably, it might be a great idea to change some settings in gadgets so that it was possible to avoid unnecessary ads.