Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is argued by some that increasing the cost of fuel will tackle global environmental issues. While this can be true to a certain extent, I personally believe that this action is not the best solution for mitigating environmental issues. On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel can help to solve these problems. Firstly, this policy may encourage people to use public transportation and fuel -efficient vehicles such as trains and bikes. This means that individuals who can not afford to purchase fuels for their vehicles may switch to more sustainable modes of transportation, which can help to lower the amount of carbon emission in the atmosphere. Secondly, this action can incentivize people to use more renewable energy sources, which are often known as environmentally friendly sources. This is because when the cost of fuels increases, clean energy sources may be more cost-effective. On the other hand, I personally believe that an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the problems. The main reason is that the causes of pollution are diverse and not just limited to the use of fossil fuels. For example, the use of plastic bags for shopping or chemicals in both agriculture and other industries can contribute to the problem of environmental pollution. Therefore, one of the most effective solutions is raising people’s awareness of the detrimental effects of using non-biodegradable products. Also, there should be policies to restrict the release of harmful chemicals from factories and households to the atmosphere, soil and water. In conclusion, although raising fuel costs can partly solve the problem of environmental pollution, I strongly believe that other methods such as limiting the use of plastic bags and the disposal of toxic waste to the environment may be more beneficial.