Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

Many people are now utilising different methods to manage diseases instead of getting medical care from health practitioners. I think this is a negative development that should be discouraged because it leads to wrong management and causes more damage. One reason why people should not get treatment from other sources than the medical doctors in the hospital is due to the possibility of wrong diagnosis and management. These various forms of treating people do not have a system in place to classify or identify diseases. The absence of this system will allow for wrong treatment to be given to people. For example, only medical practitioners will conduct laboratory investigations to determine the type of sickness before the commencement of treatment in the hospital. Another reason why getting healthcare from other places is a negative trend is the more damages it will cause to people. In other words, when individuals seek alternative healthcare, they are not sure of being treated correctly and this will further increase their ailments. Furthermore, it will make them spend more money, expose them to danger and could lead to death because this alternative form of managing ailment have not been proven to be safe scientifically. For instance, a person who has an ulcer can be given a medication that will cause the stomach to bleed and lead to more harm, death and grief. In conclusion, the increased patronage of alternative healthcare professionals is not a good development because it causes mismanagement and can lead to more harm.