Large companies have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems could this cause? What could encourage people to buy more local products?

The marketing and advertising budgets of multinational companies and brands are large. Small local businesses may not reach potential clients because people are lured by the advertising strategy of the large businesses and end up purchasing their products. There can be dire consequences, such as the closure of local businesses, unemployment, or a monopoly in the market. It is possible to steer people toward buying local products by taking a few steps mentioned in the following essay. Many global companies now operate in small towns and villages. They are able to attract buyers easily because they offer steep discounts on most products. In most cases, small local businesses, usually independently owned, have little economic power to defend themselves against big corporations that invest massive sums in marketing and promotion. It is inevitable that these firms would eventually suffer heavy losses in the market and finally be wiped out. For instance, in most cities, many local artisans have lost their livelihoods due to the lack of buyers. Now consumers would rather purchase factory-made goods that look more appealing instead of handcrafted goods. The purchasing power of local communities will decrease as local people lose their source of income. It is essential to take measures to encourage people to buy local products. Storeowners should be urged to stock local products alongside branded products. Also, banks and governments need to financially support local manufacturers to advance the economy of a country. However, local traders know their customers better than multinational giants, so they can come up with discounts and incentives that others can’t. In this way, they will be able to identify exactly what their target market needs and tailor their products accordingly to increase sales. In conclusion, the local business sector suffers the most when international companies entice local customers with great discounts. By offering customers customized solutions, local business people can overcome this threat.