Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent to do agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, the increasing number of vehicles in cities is a pressing issue that must be addressed. While some people claim that a rise in fuel prices would lead to a decline in traffic and pollutant emissions, I totally disagree with this point of view. The purpose of this essay is to express the reasons for my opinion and to present some solutions to this situation. Primarily, even with the price of petrol directly affecting drivers' costs, they will keep using their vehicles, despite how much they would spend on gas. This is because cars are the main transport within urban areas these days, and there is no indication that this scenario will change in the near future. A possible solution to this problem is the adoption of vehicle rotation, according to their licence plate numbers, which would limitate the number of cars circulating during the week. For instance, Sao Paulo has been applying this procedure for the last thirty years, and traffic has stabilized at acceptable levels since then. Secondly, the cost of oil and gas does not impact the levels of pollutants emitted by cars. In fact, the amount of these polluting components is strictly related to the abnormal combustion of fossil fuels. So, a measure would be the implementation of a stringent environmental framework for monitoring and controlling vehicles' pollutants emissions. To illustrate, since 1990, Brazilian traffic legislation has prohibited CO emissions by cars, with a positive effect on the air quality in big cities. To sum up, although a faction argues that an increase in the price of gasoline would bring benefits to the environment and to car flow, I fully disagree with that. I believe that a car rotation system and a strict environmental law would be more effective in terms of reducing traffic and pollution.