Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

The existence of social media, including but not limited to Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, has been claimed as a detrimental lifestyle for numerous layers of global citizens. I am personally against the motion because I believe the blame should not be put on the platforms but on the users. To begin with, considerable activists have argued that such online sites bring more harm than good specifically towards young generations in terms of possible addiction and laziness. This premise cannot stand under several justifications. Firstly, addictions could always occur in many circumstances such as traditional toys and TV, but it does not mean those products should be condemned or banned. What needs to be labelled as negative and changed is the irresponsible usage of digital tools. Downloaders must be educated to utilise the application wisely and productively. Hence the concerns regarding addictive and lazy habits would be prevented from happening. Other than that, social networking websites and apps offer various objectives; academic and non-academic purposes. Children and adults might operate them for educational assistance at schools, for instance researching personal references and doing hybrid group learning. Moreover, people also can use this technological advancement for entertainment content as well as socialising around the world to build relationships and maintain networking. Thus it is evident that social media provides more benefits and opportunities. In conclusion, such digital platforms have been an unending debate among societies. However, as long as the human being could control the tool and manage the time, there is nothing to be worried about.