Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Advancements of many devices have been on the high nowadays and it is a widely debated topic that this has adversely affected the bond between people. I, however, strongly disagree with this statement and believe that technology has brought us together in various ways for the reasons outlined below. Firstly, many friends can be made through social media. Whether it be living over a small distance from each other or being miles apart, social media helps us stay connected through the palm of our hands. Multimedia messages can be sent over to someone who resides on the other side of the globe. For example, studies have proven that a percentage of 78 teenagers who downloaded an app called "Discord" stayed connected during the recent Covid-19 pandemic. Thus, even during difficult times, the internet aids us to stay in touch with each other and even build new relationships. Furthermore, technology also helps us to seek useful advice from professionals in a certain field. There have been various applications developed to seek aid from experienced people such as Reddit and LinkedIn to name a few. For instance, in the year 2016, many employees who resided in Sri Lanka migrated abroad for better jobs after receiving help from experienced workers abroad. Hence, new information about a certain field or industry can be more easily understood with the usage of technology. In conclusion, it is extremely essential that technological advancements keep occurring so that communication between entities continues to exist as well as for information on specific industries to be obtained. Therefore, it is incorrect to suggest that the internet is driving us apart.