Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that advertising is becoming increasingly popular in the modern world. I personally believe that this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, the advertising industry has negative effects on consumers and today's society. To begin with, advertisements could keep consumers informed, however, as a double-edged sword, it prevents people from being satisfied with what they have, resulting in thinking of improving self-image, confidence and social status by possessing ground-breaking products. Therefore, many young people are willing to spend millions of dollars on hi-tech gadgets; as a result, many of them are getting into serious debt and struggling to pay it off. My young brother is a case in point. He long to own the newest version of the iPhone even though his old phone still is perfectly adequate for his need. Second, TV commercials targeted at children are judged as unethical. This demographic group is highly suggestible and incapable of making responsible fiscal decisions. Marketing directed at children means exploiting their naivety for financial gain. It leads to them pestering their caretakers for new toys or a set of lego they see on TV commercials. Consequently, not buying these items can result in a deterioration in parents’ relationship with their babies. My six-year-old nephew, for instance, frequently pleads with his parents for whatever he sees on TV programs. Despite the negatives mentioned above, advertising brings a wide range of benefits. First, advertising may help guide and educate first -time consumers. This is because there are lots of brands for the same type of item and with the help of TV commercials, inexperienced shoppers may overcome obstacles and make the best choice. Second, advertising has beneficial effects on societies and governments. For local governments, this industry brings a huge amount of tax revenue from advertising agencies. Moreover, it creates a range of job opportunities annually and makes significant financial contributions to the development of any nation. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the increase in the number of advertisements in modern life has both beneficial and detrimental effects.