Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that the global fashion trends influence the way people dress today. This is mainly due to social platforms, which give the audience to see many influencers or other fashion designs. However, I believe that this is a negative development because it leads to fade the cultural costume. There are many reasons why many people love to wear international fashion. Firstly, social media encourages them to buy updated clothing, and they can easily order online using their social account. In addition, some influencers with many followers influence their viewers to follow the way they dress. For example, Lisa, a well-known singer from South Korea, held a live show using her social account, and she wore a skirt that combined two patterns in her performance. It has become a famous style for her followers, and most of them started to dress like she does. Thus, international fashion becomes a big influence on people's lives. However, it has a negative impact on traditional suits. This is because residents are not aware of the value of local costumes, following updated trends. As a result, local clothing shops were not able to create new designs of local products. For instance, people from Myanmar used to wear longyi last time, but jeans and shirts have replaced them nowadays. Moreover, people started thinking that traditional costumes are just a display for foreigners. Therefore, although international fashions are smart, they impact negatively on local culture. To conclude, nevertheless it is true that people are interested in global dressing trends because of the advanced technology, it makes local fashion valueless.