In some counties an increasing number of people are suffering from health promblems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Higher percentage of people are troubled by health hazards, and it has become a heated debate whether governments should impose a higher tax on fast food. In my personal opinion, I disagree with the opinion provided, the possible reasons and better solutions for this issue are obvious, which are going to be discussed in the following essay. Personally, I believe there are three primary causes of the health hazards we encounter nowadays. Firstly, the westernization of diets has taken a huge role in our daily life such as fast food, processed food and sugary products, which significantly contribute to the trend of overweighting. Moreover, it is proven that being overweight is highly related to the possibility of having respiratory diseases. Speaking of respiratory diseases, another contributing factor of this health issue is air pollution. It is clear that the increasing number of CO2 emissions produced by the development of industries have led to not only global warming and climate change but also air pollution. Last but not least, the sedentary lifestyle in the modern world also makes a negative impact on our health. Sedentary lifestyle, lacking physical activities in other word, has resulted in metabolic syndrome and obesity for our generation. Instead of doing exercise and going outside, many children and adults would like to just stay at home and watch TV, which is clearly not enough for the minimum requirement of exercise. However, it is unnecessary to be overly worried about those problems. There are three actions that I think the government should take to address those issues. For one thing, the government should introduce new legislation to promote balanced diets. For example, the law dictates that all information regarding ingredients and producing processes of food products should be listed to help customers understand what they actually eat. In addition, developing the habit of regular exercise can provide huge benefits for solving health issues. If the government can subsidize health centers and regular health check-ups, citizens will have more motivation to get into these healthy habits. Lastly, taking action for reducing CO2 emissions has a positive influence over the problem we face. The higher air quality we make, the better life we have. In conclusion, the reasons and solutions for the health hazards that we have to deal with are apparent. All the government has to do is take action for our health.