The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous government’s expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governments should pay a hug amount of fundings to maintain old buildings in major cities across the world, while others think this money should be spent building new houses and developing roads. Personally, I agree with this view because it will be beneficial to individuals and the whole society. Granted, it is partly reasonable to spend this government budget to restore old buildings since some of them have historical value. Several ancient buildings are the crystallization of generations’ wisdom and also represent those regions’ cultural characters. Those, for instance, quadrangle in Beijing and ancient castles in some European countries, always bring a feeling of national identity and pride to their residents. However, if this funding can be used in new housing and road development, it will have more advantages. Firstly, constructing more houses can effectively relieve the issue of housing shortage as modern apartment blocks have the ability to hold thousands of families. Furthermore, it can increase people’s quality of life because new ones always equip advanced facilities such as elevators, gyms and community clinics. This means residents can easily access to professional guides in terms of physical and mental health. When it comes to developed road systems, there are at least two advantages. One is that flexible movements of products will significantly improve, which means more items can enter the market and the economy will definitely be prospect in a long run. Another is that the problem of traffic jam can be tackled to large extent. In this situation, commuters can save their time on the road and they can spend this time in other fields that they suppose more interesting and worthy, such as taking care of their children or parents, learning more knowledge or just relaxing. In conclusion, although using a curtain part of budget to preserve some historical buildings is necessary, I think more money should be spent to build more houses and roads to meet people’s needs and bring essential convenience to our life.