Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help others. Agree/disagree?

While it’s undeniable that being rich gives a person the opportunity to help other people who are in need, rich people do not particularly hold this mindset. In my opinion, too, it definitely enables them to help more but in reality, it’s not true. To commence with, the upper class belongs to only 1% of the total population. The rest 99% are either middle class or the majority lie below the poverty line. While it may sound selfish, it is unrealistic to put the responsibility of helping others on these individuals. Although, some may argue that, even if the number of people belonging to the rich population is negligible, the impact they have on the global economy cannot be overlooked. For example, being one of the richest icons globally, Elon Musk’s business decisions can influence the world economy. Additionally, these businessmen do not become affluent with an aim to help the needy, rather, they are hungry for power. They want to remain on top of the ladder to enjoy the influence they have on many other industries. Having lost sight, these world leaders, who once belonged to the middle class, have become ignorant and selfish towards society. This is the irony that we all are facing currently. To sum up, I believe, that the so-called wealthy individuals might have plenty of chances to help the disadvantaged sections of society but in reality, they have turned a blind eye. They channelise their financial resources for their own personal gain and not for the upliftment of society.