Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The recommendation reports a surprising drop in the faith of people to visit their regular doctor. Rather individuals are much more inclined toward supplementary medicines and methods of treatment. In my opinion, this is a very negative scenario. Therefore, I would like to present some reasons behind such a stance. First of all, it is often believed that alternative medicines, like herbal ones, do not contain any unnecessary components and are free of additional side effects. Moreover, individuals who prescribe these herbs do their job solely on the basis of their experience. As a result, any treatment for a newly faced illness can go wrong with even worst consequences. For example, People in South Asian countries tend to practice herbal treatment as part of heredity. These quacks often use “guessing” in determining the problem of their patients and start experimenting on them. If the medicine comes out successful, they keep prescribing it for similar future scenarios, otherwise, they keep suggesting new medications. This can result in festering the actual illness and can make situations more complex. In addition, it is quite disappointing that people are slowly losing their faith in the scientific procedures of treatments. Although the reason behind this is unclear, such a turn away can have many unwelcome ramifications in the future. For instance, during the covid outbreak, certain African nations stubbornly refused to wear face-mask. Later, they even denied mass vaccination. As a result, a heavier loss beyond expectations was observed in the final stages of the pandemic. Such behaviour during a broader-scale disaster in future may end up losing even more human life. In conclusion, the aforementioned arguments provide the necessary outline and framework to defend my opinion about the negativity of such a proclivity of avoiding doctors growing the number of people recently.