Aircrafts have been increasingly used to transport fruits and vegetables to some countries where such plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it a good trend, but some people oppose it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the booming advancement in contemporary transport, making use of planes to transport agricultural products to deviant countries for seasonal reasons is considered a superior approach, though others are strong antagonists of this procedure. In my opinion, the aforementioned route would be lucrative not only to patrons but also economies predominantly. On the one hand, some harbour the belief that importing perishable items by flight is beneficial to consumers’ health. Innumerable studies have shown that although it is invisible, the insufficient intake of nutrients, minerals, and vitamins from fruits and vegetables may produce health problems such as the absence of fibre in daily meals is the chief culprit for poor digestion. Hence, it would be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that if nations are confronted with difficulties to feed the population due to extreme weather, then importing fruits and vegetables is a tactical solution. Examples could be seen in Africa where local governments have to go through a food supply crisis by virtue of rapid desertification, and low precipitation imported from neighbouring countries plays an instrumental role in the consumption of individuals. On the other hand, the counter-argument raised by objectors is that these commercial activities are detrimental to the economy. This belief could be attributed to the fact that when a nation becomes addicted to importing perishable products at low costs, it could be blinded from making optimal use of natural resources to become a self-sufficient country. In other words, the heavy reliance on imported goods could be at the expense of food security. For instance, according to researchers, the unilateral trading activity of importing agricultural goods without exporting specialized products may make a country extremely vulnerable to changes in international relations. To summarize, I side with the stance of the former to a larger extent, by virtue of the fact that taking advantage of various means of transport, namely aeroplanes to convey fruits and vegetables is crucially paramount to public health.