Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Although the medicine has made titanic advancements over the last few years, the trust in it has been in a decline. As a result, there is a growing demand for alternative medicines and treatments that do not heed established science and rely on traditional forms of treatments In my view, this development is a dire one and will have a significantly negative impact on general health. Firstly, using alternative medicines is most likely perilous and may well give way to dangerous health hazards. Since this way of treatment has not been scientifically proven, there are not any concrete evidence that a treatment will have the intended result and often, it will worsen the symptoms and fail catastrophically. Take the case of Steve Jobs, he was dignosed with cancer but instead of starting the treatment suggested by doctors, he opted for alternative medicines. A choice that cost him his life. Moreover, the ones who practice alternative medicines rarely have the good of their patients in mind. Furthermore, they even may charge more than a usual doctor because they are usually self-appointed experts that are less common than doctors and hence more valuable. For instance, treatment for a routine sickness does not cost much using modern medicines as they are more mainstream, however, to treat the same sickness the alternative medicines practitioner may charge more. Overall, I think the modern way of treating diseases is the best way. While, it is true that it does not always yield the expected results, it should not hinder its effectiveness and make people opt for other kinds of treatments as they, in the best case, do not work.