Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Many believe that due to advertisements, people are now more motivated to purchase what is not essential while others believe that advertisements have more advantages adding value to our existence by bringing useful items into our worlds. While I agree that people tend to buy non-essential things due to the intrusion of adverts, I believe that advertisements have helped to enlighten us about value-added products. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, some sections of society have a negative view that advertising products could cause many customers to waste their hard earn income to buy what is not useful for them. Firstly, many companies when they advertise their products, sometimes start with a promo by bringing down the original cost of their new products and giving a deadline by which the promo will end. This prompts many customers to purchase products that they do not need for fear of missing out on a bargain that might not be available later. Another reason people buy non-essential items might be due to the possibility of scarcity. In other words, many feel they may not have access to that kind of brand in the future and therefore buy and it keep. For example, I remember in 2019 when I was searching for new cars online, I came across a mobile air conditioner which was advertised to be used in the water to release cool air. It was cheap and I decided to buy it because I felt I may not see it on sale over the summer or it may become expensive later on if demand increases. However, during the summer, I was not able to use this product because my house was not as hot as I thought and the product when tested was not as cool comparable to a normal house air conditioner. I saw this as a waste of money. On the other hand, another section of society feels that the advertisement of products has helped people to discover those items that are very important to their life. One of the means by which society looks for what they need is by checking different mediums for where that particular product has been advertised. They will have the opportunity to compare and contrast with other related products and conclude on the suitable one. This helps people to know the best product that is useful for them. Furthermore, when products are advertised especially on the internet, people can message the manufacturer through the comment sections and demand improvements to these products which they are not satisfied with, and by this, the improved products may eventually meet customer’s quality demand. For example, on Gumtree, an online advertisement platform, people go there to search for cars and are able to know which are reliable and good vendors. Therefore, they have the ability to do more research on their desired car to be sure of its quality. In conclusion, while it is true that advertisements make us spend a lot of money on what is not essential, it has otherwise helped in discovering quality products that are useful for the improvement of people ’s lives in society.