Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

Today, workers are adapting to the new pattern of working even after the eligible time for getting off work. This essay will clarify the reasons for this trend and the problems associated. The phenomenon of working hours elongation could be put down to many factors, but first and foremost, it is the incessantly growing demand that humankind imposes on businesses and industries. And as big companies always make effort to minimize their workforce for the sake of saving labour costs, a solution to this problem is that in lieu of new staff recruitment, they try to incentivize their employees with promising fringe benefits with the purpose of making them work overtime. What is more, the acceleration of costs of living is also a contributory aspect as this means that basic salaries offered within the standard nine-to-five workday have become far less than enough. As a result, to afford their lives, people now have to earn more by spending more time at work. The consequences of lengthened labour period have been proven to be detrimental, with the most remarkable pitfall being the deterioration of workers’ health. To rationalize this, the trend appears to lead to a disorder in our biological clocks as we may have to sacrifice our rest to complete the overwhelming workload at times. Gradually, this would put our health at the depredation of degenerative conditions, such as sleep deprivation, accumulated stress and higher chances of strokes or heart attacks. As to be worse, our mental well-being could also be jeopardized by the new trend of doing overtime. To be specific, if a person is up to the ears in documents and tasks, they usually have a tendency to neglect the importance of social engagement, leading to the estrangement between relationships, which is the main cause of public isolation. Nowadays, this loneliness may accidentally push people into mental predicaments like depression, anxiety or even suicide when facing problems as they do have very little support. All in all, it is the harm it does to our health both physically and mentally that makes doing overtime an ill-advised working pattern. In conclusion, as businesses grow in their profit, it is at the cost of their employees' health and social well-being. If this is left unchecked, it could lead to immeasurable negative consequences.