In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The world now revolves around technology. From automatic vehicles to robotic teachers, AI driven machines are gaining popularity. Due to this, the possibility of driverless vehicles in future is acceptable. This advancement definitely has its advantages and disadvantages which would be further discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with the advantages, driverless automobiles would reduce the human error significantly. To illustrate, truck drivers who need to travel long distances in the nighttime tend to doze off while driving. Another example is, some drivers get distracted by the continuous notifications on their mobile phones. Consequently, the count of road accidents on the highways is rising. Thus, these negligent actions of human beings can be minimised by manufacturing driverless vehicles. Looking at the disadvantages of the same, firstly, this transition will leave drivers jobless in the future. For example, individuals who depend on driving for their livelihood will be forced to take up alternate career options. Secondly, the problem with AI controlled machines is that these machines act on the pre-set commands which make them less effective in real-life settings. Therefore, switching to driverless automobiles will not only decrease the number of jobs available but also will not be as practical as human-driven vehicles. To sum up, substituting the driver-centric public transport with driverless buses and trucks will have both pros and cons. However, according to me, the benefits of this futuristic technology do not outweigh the drawbacks. As we all know, robotic machines can never replace the wonders of human minds.