Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is claimed that as people can buy the same products across the globe, countries are becoming comparable. Even though some might find this disadvantageous, it seems this change would improve the financial stability of a nation, and bolster its citizens’ cognitive development. The most notable benefit of nations losing their distinction is commercial gains. When the same items are available around the world, it improves international trade, and consequently, adds to the economy. For instance, a state may impose higher taxes on foreign items, which may further lead to a stronger economy. Besides, smaller businesses and shopkeepers may also gain from this change. The global availability of branded products has allowed local shopkeepers to stock an array of merchandise, which has helped them increase their profit share. Thus, the similarity in different countries is helpful for a nation’s economic growth. In addition to strengthening the economy, nations becoming identical has many benefits for an individual. Firstly, the availability of international items has had a positive effect on one’s living standard. For example, accessibility to branded apparel and personal devices, such as an iPhone, has helped an individual from a developing country to stand equal to one from a developed country. Moreover, the intellectual growth of a person also depends on easier access to global products. Easy reach to international books and hobbyist-specific tools has allowed many individuals to know and learn different skills. Thus, regions becoming similar is favourable for an individual as well. To conclude, it seems there is a twofold reward in society becoming analogous, one on a national scale and another on a personal level.