Some people think that if a country is already rich, further economic development will not result in its citizens being any happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that any further economic development in a developed country will not improve its people’s happiness. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because their salary will be possibly increased and this positive condition will open up more employment. First and foremost, strong and positive economic growth in a country shows that its industries are thriving. This is because companies are performing well and their profit is growing. This situation will also benefit their employees, employers may give bigger bonuses and higher percentage merit increases in their salary. People will have more money to spend on their necessities and save the remaining. Individuals are happier when they are assured that all their basic needs are fulfilled and they can afford more such as buying cars or even planning a vacation. For example, Shopee's performance in 2022 was better than in previous years and their workers received a larger amount of money as the year-end bonus. Moreover, a good economic situation will allow businesses to do well. Many new businesses are emerging, this new opportunity will open and absorb more workers. Even in a developed country such as America, there are still jobless and underpaid employees. These new job vacancies from these new companies will provide better options for them to get higher-paying jobs. These will open up opportunities to improve their lives. For instance, in the USA, many workers who get paid under the standard wages are now improving their skills and shifting to start-ups to get better paychecks. In conclusion, even in a developed country, economic development enables its citizens to get higher paychecks because their companies are doing well and new emerging business opens up a better salary for people to have better living standards.