One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expenctancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, the advancement of healthcare enables people to live longer. This can cause numerous benefits to mankind, while it can potentially lead to some drawbacks. This essay will examine and compare the pros and cons of medicinal development. Many advantages can be received from the improvement of hospitalization. First of all, elders who might be our beloved parents and grandparents can stay with us longer. As the result, family members are happier because the loss of a close person always makes individuals sad and upset. According to the report by WHO, 90 per cent of people suffered from depression and anxiety due to tragic deaths caused by any reason. Furthermore, As humans have an averagely longer life, we can enjoy the world longer. To illustrate, the average life expectancy of everyone in the USA is around 75 years old, and we normally spend many decades in education and working until we get retirement at the age of 60 years old. Therefore, we have only 15 years left to take the rest of life and live with family. However, if the average life was increased up to 90 years old, we would have more time to enjoy the world. That is why longer life always brings joyfulness and happiness to everybody. In contrast, too much time living on the earth also has adverse consequences for individuals and nations. In case that living alone without any relatives or friends left, how would it feel? the rest of life will be a tough time to live. In addition, the government needs to advocate a large amount of budget for retired citizens who cannot make any income to the countries because these elders do not work anymore, so they pay fewer taxes. However, the authority still needs to provide them with financial support monthly, which can be considered a major burden for the nation because the government can invest this considerable amount of money to develop other aspects. Hence, the increase in old people can lead to the loss of national expenditure. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of this enhancement include bringing happiness to family members and the capability to enjoy lives longer absolutely outweigh its drawbacks.