Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Learning to speak a new language is a skill that everyone should acquire. Some believe that people should learn a new language only in case they travel or work abroad, while others think that these should not be the only reasons to learn a new tongue. This essay will discuss why learning a new language will benefit one in many ways, other than just traveling and working in a foreign country. If people already know the native language of the country they are traveling to, it will be easier for them to move around the places and find work, and get settled in the local community. For instance, thousands of people from all over the world come to Canada on work-permit visas, in the search of better jobs. Eventually, people who know English will get better opportunities than those who do not. Therefore, one should always learn a new language just as a basic survival skill in a new town. On the contrary, this should not be the only case when one should learn a new language. There are plenty of other situations where linguistic skills can be helpful, for example, for getting a job as a language teacher in a local university that has a language department, or as a translator for foreigners coming for tourism, or just as a hobby. Being a linguaphile, will not only provide one with better job options in its own country but will also give one confidence in knowing something that only a few people know in that area. To conclude, not many people learn a language to just move abroad, but they learn it for making themselves skillful, or merely as a hobby. In my opinion, people should always find a chance to learn a new tongue, because it will benefit them in one way or another.