Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Traditional culture is always one of the most popular topics in this world. While some people are not willing to keep following domestic traditional cultures, others argue it is essential to maintain such cultures. This essay will analyze both sides of the argument before providing personal opinions. On the one hand, people might think some traditional norms and cultures are conservative and even offence people ’s rights of being free to some extent. Generally speaking, we are now living in an era where people are free to speak and exhibit behaviours as long as such speeches and behaviours do not hurt others, yet some traditional norms are conflicting with this concept and indeed restrict people ’s own choices in some aspects. A traditional mores in the Qing dynasty of China, for example, regulated the haircut of all male civils must be the same in one style, which means males in china must keep half of their head bald. Undoubtedly, such culture denies people ’s freedom in making their own judgements on haircuts. Therefore, it is reasonable for people to give up maintaining these traditional cultures. On the other hand, we cannot deny that some traditional cultures are worth maintaining since they represent the diversity of historical values. To be more specific, traditional mores and customs in different countries carry unique stories and lessons which are directly linked to the history and original beliefs of their own nations. The boat race during the Dragon Boat festival, one of the most famous cultures in China, for instance, is the way that the Chinese memories Yuan Qu, a well-known historical portraitist from 2,000 years ago, as well as the original belief in dragons in ancient times. As a result, by keeping these cultures in modern times, the precious aspects of human lives can be preserved and become lasting. In conclusion, I feel that whether it is critical to preserve an old-fashioned culture depends on each culture itself. If s cultural practice is offensive and people have to make sacrifices unwillingly in order to follow it, then it is unworthy to be preserved. Whereas if a cultural practice is meaningful and allows people to connect with the historical stories, this practice is deserved to be maintained.