Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays there has been a heated debate about whether belonging to a lower social class leads to committing action against the law more frequently. Consequently, in this essay, I will analyze why it is true and the reasons why it happens. Overall, people who are in a disadvantaged position in society are more likely to commit crimes to earn some money. Therefore, for those who struggle to find a job is mandatory to find an alternative way to have an income. According to researchers, people from lower classes tend to take part in criminal organizations which are involved in selling drugs or doing thefts such as burglaries. By doing these illegal activities the groups' bosses can ensure a salary for their ''employees'', as well as, medical assistance if they have a disabled child for example, or economic help to afford an attorney if they get into trouble. On the other hand, cash is not the only reason why they do this. Without a doubt, being poor exposes them to a lot of psychiatric diseases such as bipolar disorder or schizophrenia, so usually, those who are affected form those conditions can perpetuate more extreme actions like murderers. For example, in my town a couple of years ago, a homeless person escaped from the psychiatric hospital and brutally killed two people in the middle of the street with a knife. Hence, needy people's mental health is a topic governments should focus on more. In conclusion, I think poverty is for sure related to criminality, but it is not a reason to emarginate the most fragile part of the population. Furthermore, I strongly believe that those citizens should be helped rather than demonized. Thus, administrations should provide them with both economic and health facilities to face their problems and become an integral part of society.