More and more people are expected to be living in the urban centres in the future. What problems can be caused? Should government encourage people to settle outside the city?

It is becoming increasingly common to relocate to larger cities instead of living in suburbs. Moreover, it is predicted that even more people will move to urban areas in the long term. Inevitably, this trend will cause such serious problems as deforestation and congestion. From my perspective, it is important for authorities to give incentives to citizens in order for them to choose a place of living in the outskirts. The notions will be examined in the essay. To begin with, researchers say that it is highly likely that a number of people currently living in suburbs will relocate to cities in the foreseeable future because of the infrastructure available in the bigger cities and a higher level of life. For instance, research has shown that 60% of the population of the planet will have lived in urban areas by 2050. However, it might have a negative impact on the environment. Firstly, if there is an influx of individuals in larger cities it will entail cutting out trees to establish new infrastructure. Therefore, it will be harmful to the Earth because a lack of trees will accelerate the progress of climate warming. Secondly, an excess of citizens will worsen the issue o traffic jams. For example, statistics demonstrate that such megapolises as Moscow and Istambul were the most congested cities in the world and hence these cities contribute to climate change due to emissions. Thus, if this tendency will continue we can expect more congested urban areas in the future. Needless to say, it is essential that authorities make effort to persuade individuals to stay in the suburbs because it will help avoid soaring deforestation and decrease the number of vehicles on urban roads. For instance, some authorities offer to citizens a mortgage for purchasing an apartment in suburbs with low-interest rates. Consequently, this tendency will positively affect nature let alone people’s mental health. In conclusion, obviously many people will tend to relocate to bigger from the outskirts. Nonetheless, it may cause a detrimental effect on the environment which is why the government should rather discourage individuals to move to urban areas and motivate them to settle down in the outskirts instead.