Many people believe that zoos should be closed, while others claim that zoos have a positive impact. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

During the last few years, the debate about whether zoos should be kept open to support wild animals, is growing and creating more and more controversy. In the following paragraphs, this essay will put forth that although some people are in favour of the view that zoos are great spaces for preserving a wide variety of species, it is my opinion, like that of a large part of the population, that these types of places are against the well-being of wildlife. On the one hand, there are people that advocate the view that these types of institutions are needed as a critical part of endangered species conservation efforts. Wild animals whose populations have been significatively reduced in numbers, are in need of humanity’s cooperation to survive. For instance, the sea crocodiles in Northern Australia were almost extinct a couple of decades ago, and now, they are not an endangered species anymore due to all the hard work conducted by zoos and sanctuaries. On the other hand, there are people arguing that captivity is bad for animals. It is often believed that these types of places create a detrimental impact on animals, gradually affecting their natural way of living. They, like humans, have feelings and can suffer depression and anxiety when locked down or mistreated. Furthermore, being away from the wild, and incapacitated of hunting or acting on instincts, makes their situation even worst. In a recent documental by National Geographic, the contrast between the happiness and well-being of animals in the wild and in captivity was covered, clearly exposing the harmful effects of the latter. In conclusion, besides there are some supporting the view that zoos are a must for preserving endangered species, I strongly believe that such places are against nature, and therefore, the captivity of animals should be avoided at all costs.