In some countries, most people people prfer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the davantages and disadvantages?

It is becoming widely popular among people to rent a place instead of buying their own home due to various reasons. This essay discusses both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Many individuals prefer to rent their homes due to financial ease; moreover, it also allows flexibility if one is not sure about permanently settling into a new city. In recent times, due to scarcity of land, the prices have surged dramatically. For instance, a 200 metre square land costs about 6 to 7 crores in Delhi, India, upon which construction costs of the house are also added. Therefore, a rented house serves as a more economically feasible alternative. Additionally, when young adults move to metropolitan cities for better job opportunities, it is preferable to rent a house, instead of buying one as it may be a temporary move to boost their career. Despite the advantages of subletting houses, there are a few drawbacks such as a lack of stability and freedom. For example, if the owner of the house decides not to rent the place anymore and convert it into a personal studio, he can simply give a deadline to vacate the place. The hassle of finding a suitable place and relocating can be challenging. Furthermore, in rented places, there are often certain rules that tenants need to follow such as allowance of pets, or regarding having guests over. In conclusion, choosing to reside in a rented place has both pros and cons. On one hand, it serves as a financially prudent option, while on the other hand, there is a lack of freedom and certainty.