Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Urban life has attracted many young people from rural areas over recent years. Today, a number of young individuals are migrating from rural areas to metropolises, leaving the elderly people in the regional areas. The following essay will argue about the negative consequences of these patterns, because of the negative impact on rural economies and the decrease of life quality in overpopulated cities. First of all, the migration stream of young generations to urban areas, increases the lack of an agricultural workforce, which requires strength and stamina, qualities difficult to find in elder people. Moreover, the birth rates in the agricultural areas are negatively impacted by the decrease in the number of young families, which fuels the rural labour force reduction, both negatively affecting regional economies. For instance, there are several isolated rural towns in Spain and Italy, whose councils are offering houses for as cheap as one euro, with the aim of attracting young families to settle down, with no other intention more than boosting the local economy as well as avoiding the town’s disappearance. To continue, cities and the quality of life of their inhabitants are negatively impacted by these migratory movements. First, newcomers to the city feed the flow that makes urban areas increasingly overcrowded. Second, overpopulation and the proliferation of young people increase the difficulties in finding job opportunities as well as cause an increase in rental prices, difficulties that are detrimental to the life quality of the population in general. A recent study, carried out by the University of Sydney, shows that 30% of the young population from regional areas has moved to large metropolises during the last five years, and that the price of rents in urban areas has also seen an increase of 25% during the same period of time. In conclusion, Some young individuals are migrating from the countryside to cities and towns leaving only old people behind. Therefore, it is clear that these migratory flows from the countryside to metropolises, generate endless negative effects on the regional economies of rural areas, as well as on the quality of life of newcomers to the big urbs.