It is important for school children to learn about their local history rather than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is considered by some individuals that it is vital for juveniles to be educated on stories about their country of origin instead of global history. In my opinion, I completely agree with this as it aids the preservation of culture and promotes tourism. To begin with, the retention of national history is one reason why younger ones should get education on the history of their country. In other words, teaching children histories lead to the preservation and transmission of indigenous histories from one generation to another. For instance, children who learnt history of their country in primary schools are more interested in their national history than children who were not taught. Preserving stories about their origin is one reason why children should learn about the local history. Furthermore, children should learn local history instead of world history because it promotes tourism. When young ones know about the stories of other places, they do not see a need to travel to search places to learn about them. This in turn drives down the tourism business as the stories of those other places have been learnt from their global history lessons. For example, reading about Europe and America while I was in Africa gave me a picture of how those places look and I was not interested in visiting them as an adult. In conclusion, while others think children should learn about world history, I believe juveniles should be taught their local histories because it promote the retention of culture and tourism.