Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a strong and popular notion that there should fixed penalty for each crime. But, there is also, a big amount of individuals saying that investigators must consider the terms of every committed crime and give a proper punishment. The following essay will discuss each point of view and explain why police have to take every detail of crime into consideration. On the one hand, there are people supporting the idea of fixed punishment and obviously, this statement has sense because it would be much easier and at the same time faster to judge any kind of crime, however, it absolutely does not mean that is a good decision. Not taking into consideration all facts may lead to misjudgment and can get some innocent people in prison. For example, a murderer, who could actually kill someone accidentally, can be prisoned and will not be able to collect any evidence of his non-communion, due to any sort of this evidence not even being taken into account. On the other hand, there are people who count any circumstances related to the crime. Collecting every single move of the suspect, such as motivating force or the meaning of the crime, can give anyone a chance to justify himself in front of the judge. For instance, committed robberies and robbers that were abused by other people can provide useful information that can lead to real criminals, if the police would interrogate the suspects. In conclusion, it should be mentioned that despite the fact that fixed punishment can give some benefits to our society there are still more disadvantages. Also, the judicial system must be objective and take into account all the details.