Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The majority of society is starting to labour and study distantly, as advanced technologies such as computers and laptops are becoming less expensive and more available. This essay agrees that this is a positive development and will provide explanations below. Firstly, working and getting educated at home provides more personal time, because there is no need to spend hours on the road from and to the workplace or school. In general, people spend about 30 to 40 minutes on road. As a result, they waste time instead of spending it with their friends and family or improving their skills. For instance, during the pandemic 2020, everybody all over the world was learning or working in online mode. Therefore, most of the society had enough hours to work on themself, which significantly enhanced their life. Secondly, this provides more opportunities. Nowadays studying and working abroad are available online. People can stay at home in their comfort zone and get an education or work overseas. For instance, there are several universities around the world making summer online courses for school students to develop their skills and encourage them to this particular university. On the other hand, in online mode, face-to-face interactions are decreasing, because it is not possible to see emotions or to have real interaction through technology. In addition, it is hard to perform in groups and to find friends online. As a result, people may lose their social skills and become too self-concentrated. To conclude, in my opinion, although there are a few disadvantages, an increase in the usage of technologies in education and employment is a beneficial development as it provides more leisure time and opportunities.