All cars, trucks and buses will be driverless vehicles in the future, and people will only be passengers.

Roads in the future are likely to be filled with vehicles that drive themselves with people as mere passengers. Although driverless vehicles may have difficulty sensing and reacting to their environment, those limitations will eventually be overcome, and driverless vehicles will be safer and more reliable than human drivers. Opponents of driverless cars often cite the limitations of their sensory equipment to argue against their use. Driverless vehicles use lasers and cameras to detect their environment, but these can be adversely affected by weather. Heavy rainfall interferes with lasers, and snow can cover camera lenses. These systems may not recognize obstacles like potholes or debris on roads that can cause accidents. In addition, robots have a hard time reading road signs, so they are completely reliant on GPS and programmed computer data like maps. When there are changes in road conditions like repair work or public events, they may not be aware of the situation. However, as technology advances, and streets are upgraded to accommodate driverless vehicles, these limitations will be overcome. Proponents of driverless vehicles, however, can provide ample evidence that robot drivers will be superior to humans in terms of safety and reliability. Human drivers are impulsive so they often bend or break rules while driving, and they often take unnecessary risks. Conversely, driverless vehicles will always strictly obey every driving rule and regulation. Moreover, computers cannot become tired or inebriated, nor can they be distracted or daydream. Over 80% of car accidents in the US are the result of driver error, but computers don't make mistakes. They are inherently perfect drivers, so traffic accidents would be greatly reduced if not eliminated completely. The vehicles would also coordinate with each other, which would make traffic flow more smoothly. Traffic jams and bottlenecks would be a thing of the past, and commuting times would be dramatically reduced. In conclusion, although driverless vehicles have some limitations due to their sensory equipment and programming, those problems will be solved. Therefore, the advantages of driverless vehicles like safety and reliability far outweigh the current disadvantages.