In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some countries, the vast majority choose owning a house rather than renting. From my perspective, having a house as a preferable option can be a negative situation, especially in a dense area. Some inhabitants might prefer having their own house to provide their sense of prestige and stability. Acquiring a house would be an achievement for some people and significantly could improve their social status. After owning a house, the family would feel stable enough to have a place to live after they retire and they can inherit their house as an asset to the next generation. Therefore, their children do not have to work very hard to buy a house because they believe that the property price will increase exponentially in the next 20 years. However, renting a place could be a more realistic option to maintain the country’s economic status quo and avoid inflation. If most of the population chooses to own a building, the housing demand would increase tremendously. Later on, prices in the commercial industry would be extremely competitive, not only for the property. Another reason related to environmental concerns, the country will gradually lose its vacant land if more and more families purchase houses. Hence, inadequate land absorption could raise the sea level and increase the risk of flood. This serious issue could make the area not qualified enough to live in. This situation has ever happened in Jakarta and some professionals forecasted that Jakarta would sink in 10 years. In conclusion, many people think that having their own home is very prominent to provide their sense of prestige and stability. Nonetheless, people should consider renting a place because it is a more realistic option for the sake of the country’s economic status and environmental condition.