In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent you agree or disagree?

It is true that in many countries, the problem of an ageing population has led to an increase in medical costs. Because of this trend, some argue that people living in such countries should pay for healthcare expenses from now on. I totally disagree with this idea. To begin with, if individuals have to be responsible for expenditures on healthcare, the treatments of severe diseases will impose a heavy financial burden on most of them, which will hurt the economy as a whole. As the costs for treating health problems such as cancer and heart disease are way too much exorbitant, only wealthy individuals, a small proportion of a nation’s population, can afford such expenses. This tells the fact that most people, without high incomes or savings, will fail to pay for the medical fee if they contract a severe disease. As a result, these people will tend to keep saving their money instead of spending it on purchasing goods or shopping, in order to prepare for potential healthcare expenditures in the future. And the social economy would be sluggish due to the lack of consumption. On top of that, if medical costs were paid by individuals rather than governments, hospitals would become revenue-oriented, which will be detrimental to patients. Hospitals and other members of the healthcare system should play the role of non-profitable organizations in the public, therefore they can focus on tackling health problems for the citizens. This can be realized if governments pay for the bill of healthcare and provide financial support to them. Yet if the burden of medical expenditures falls on individuals, hospitals and other healthcare organizations would try to excavate as many profits from their patients and achieve this outcome in some inappropriate ways. For example, hospitals may sell overpriced medicines to their patients in order to make profits as a consequence of this trend. In other words, these organizations may not concentrate on curing patients and the health conditions of social members cannot be treated in a good way. In conclusion, I firmly believe that a nation's people should not be responsible for medical costs, since this will hurt the economy and make hospitals become revenue-oriented. Therefore, it is reasonable for the governments to pay for the related healthcare provisions.