In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is true to say that the number of people who consume imported food has increased. There are many reasons why people buy food from abroad rather than local one. However, government can do so many activities to keep their people buying domestic food. Most Individuals consume Imported food because it has usually better quality especially shape, color, taste and packaging. The exporting country has sophisticated technology which can make it happen. In addition, although it has to be transported far away, most imported food is cheaper than local food. For instance, in Indonesia, Apple from China is more affordable than Apple from Malang. In fact, China can produce apple in large amount. So, they can reach economic of scale which make their product low cost. Therefore, according to quality and price, most Indonesian will choose apple from China. For food security and economic development, Government will encourage their citizen to buy food made domestically. One policy that government can do to make it happen is imported food tax. Beside increasing revenue for government, it will make imported food more expensive. Therefore, the local food can compete with them on the price. Furthermore, government can give training to farmers about better method and technology that they can use. Consequently, their output like vegetables and fruits will improve. So, they will not inferior from imported food and more people will consume them. Recently, because of its quality and price, people would rather import food. However, government can collect imported food tax and improve local food quality to encourage people to consume them.