These days people are living into their 90's and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

Due to the development of healthcare system people tend to live longer when they did it early. Nowadays, society have faced with a question about responsibility for the old people. In my mind, the government should be obliged to social and health welfare. On the one hand, people who live in cities tend to have nuclear families. The reason is the speed and cost of life in megapolises. In that case, people don’t have time to care for their parents. Moreover, the old generation need not only care and medical help, they frequently need a company. It is crucial for well being to have a pleasant time with others. Unfortunately, the modern lifestyle doesn’t provide a lot of time to spend with family, and the old generation have to watch TV all day long. In that case, retirement homes can be a win-win choice for all. On the other hand, people in developing countries such as India, Iran, Azerbaijan, often live in extended families. Adults and their children take care of the old generation. Moreover, some of the countries are very religious and have strong traditional values. This is the main reason of close-knit families. It definitely gives some positive effects on emotional conditions for elderly but they also need qualified medical help from time to time. To sum up, the old people should have access to the medical system. Due to the cost of health insurance it must be provided by the government, As far as family members are concerned it is a personal decision. Although retirement in the family circle is the most pleasant choice.