In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Homeownership is considered of significant importance in several countries across the globe. Although the usefulness of such investment varies a lot based on the type of the economy of the country and the way of obtaining the ownership, it is highly regarded as a status symbol, sometimes as an emblem of financial stability also - conventional wisdom will almost always recommend anyone to own lands like a house or an apartment. This essay will shed light on both the bane and boon of owning. To commence with, owning an apartment has immense benefits. Firstly, it will reduce a lot of stress from a person's monthly bill, because, usually rent is the largest bill someone has to pay. For instance, a recent study showed more than 50% of the bills paid in a month for a householder is his rent in most megacities across the world. Besides, owning an apartment also frees up a big chunk of your salary for investment and other purposes like travelling or shopping. Moreover, owning a residence means you have higher freedom and control over the way you want to decorate or manage. Because there is no landlord to enforce some unwanted rules to be followed. On top of that, living in one residence for a generation can build significant memories for the family. Nevertheless, owning a mansion is a status symbol in many cultures; to be seen as having a higher position in the social hierarchy will always come with its own benefits, as well as the property value of a residence can work as a buffer or security during a crisis such as a medical emergency. On the contrary, purchase also has its downside too. Studies have shown that often a dweller gets stuck in one city or single location for his entire life just because he bought the estate, hence, missing out on a plethora of opportunities which he might have been capable of in other places. On the other hand, sometimes building comes with the burden of huge loans with high interest. For example, owning a house which will require to be paid in 30 years mortgage may not be a good idea at all. In a nutshell, owning a home could offer a lot of benefits including higher social status and financial stabilities, but it is not bulletproof to some demerits. Therefore, a thorough analysis is required of an individual's financial condition and the economy of the country before concluding if the purchase will be a bane or boon. I think, regardless of the economy or financial situation, owning will be preferable.